Skip to Content

Hagedorn edges Feehan to win MN 1st Congressional race

MANKATO, Minn. (WXOW) – The votes are in for another close race, this one in Southeastern Minnesota.

Republican Jim Hagedorn defeated DFL nominee Dan Feehan to win the seat as Minnesota’s First District Congressional Representative.

The advantage swayed between the two all night.

Trouble with computers in Mower county and others held up the process.

The final tally went through late Wednesday morning.


With 100 percent of the precincts in, Hagedorn won with a 1,311 vote advantage against Feehan.

The seat became open when DFL Congressman Tim Walz vacated the seat to run for governor. It quickly became one Republicans targeted to flip.

Walz took the seat as Minnesota Governor after the 2018 Elections.

The contest even drew President Trump to Rochester in October.

Kevin Millard

Kevin Millard-Social Media Digital Content Manager for WXOW.

Skip to content