Skip to Content

Downtown meeting and awards celebrate strong year, bright future

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00

LA CROSSE, Wis. (WXOW) — The 29th annual Downtown Mainstreet La Crosse meeting and awards took place at the Cargill room downtown on Wednesday afternoon.

The gathering honors individuals and groups that have helped shape the downtown area over the last year and those who’ve left a legacy with keeping the downtown alive.

Members of the downtown community gathered and discussed the future of La Crosse during the luncheon.

“We have nearly 300 people here, all downtown stakeholders, who care about what’s happening, who are involved with the organization,” said Robin Moses, executive director for Downtown Mainstreet La Crosse. “They’re involved in the community. They give back, and because of that, the downtown is thriving and successful.”

Today’s ceremony celebrated the culmination of a 20-year-master-plan completed by the group. All eyes lie on the future and the next master-plan that will guide the downtown to success.

“We’ll be pulling all of our stakeholders together,” said Moses. “We’ll be hiring experts to come into our community to do public engagement. We’ll look at the challenges we’re having today to make sure we’re planning for the future.”

Awards were handed out to different groups and individuals for their time and dedication to making the downtown the best it can be.

You can find the full list of winners below.

Downtown Award Winners:
Volunteer of the Year | Jessica Kirchner
Downtown Event | Rotary Lights
Downtown Beautification | Dick Record and the La Crosse Arts Board
Façade Improvement | The Reuter-Mader Project
Interior Design | Monet Floral
New Development | La Crosse Distilling Co.
HIstoric Redevelopment | Landmark By The Rivers
Keynote Speaker | Jason Gilman, City of La Crosse Planning Dept.
Legacy Award | Bud Miyamoto

Mike Beiermeister

WXOW Weekend Anchor and Reporter

Skip to content