Skip to Content

YWCA Tribute to Outstanding Women nominees announced

LA CROSSE, Wis. (WXOW) –  The YWCA La Crosse announced 23 nominees for the 2019 Tribute to Outstanding Womxn awards event.

The group is using an alternative spelling of the word women. The term Womxn is an alternative term for the English language word women which has been regularly in use since 2015 to explicitly include transgender women and women of color.

Intersectionality refers to the overlap of different kinds of discrimination based on, for instance, sex, race, class, sexuality and ability, according to the Merriam Webster dictionary, which added the word in April 2017.
As a result, “womxn” is designed to be more inclusive of all kinds of women, including trans women.

The YWCA said that the following nominees, sorted into 5 categories, all exemplify YWCA La Crosse’s mission to eliminate racism, empower women, and promote peace, justice, freedom and dignity for all.

2019 Young Women of Tomorrow Nominees
Mari Hauschildt, La Crosse Logan High School
Taja Wright, Onalaska High School
Lynsey Anderson, Holmen High School

2019 Innovative Leaders of Today Nominees
Ebony Hyter, St. Clare Health Mission, B.L.A.C.K.
Mandy Bisek, La Crosse County
Teigen Haye, Boys & Girls Club

2019 Sustaining Leaders of Today Nominees
Melissa Hellwig, The Therapy Place of La Crosse
Tracy Littlejohn, Ho-Chunk Nation
Karolyn Bald, UW-La Crosse
Joella Striebel, Peace of Mind Counseling LLC
Rose (Reinert) Dobbs, Boys & Girls Club
Bridget Todd-Robbins, La Crosse County

2019 Womxn of Distinction Nominees
Donna Christianson, La Crosse County
Mary Beth Hensel, Gundersen Health System
Sarah Anderson, Mayo Clinic Health System
Christine Michels, Holmen High School
Barb Helgeson, Mayo Clinic Health System
Ann Kappauf, New Horizons
Sue Kolve-Feehan, Sue Kolve’s Salon & Day Spa
Denise Christy Moss, The Enduring Families Project
Rebecca Mormann-Krieger, The Enduring Families Project
Lois Gilbert, American Association of University Women (AAUW)
Alice Holstein, Mental Health Community Volunteer

The contributions of all nominees will be recognized and honorees will be announced and awarded at the

This year, Tribute will feature keynote speaker Amanda Florence Goodenough. Amanda was a 2010
Tribute honoree for Social Justice and returns to us in her role as the Director of Campus Climate at the
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse. Amanda is a true leader and outstanding woman in our community as she
works to advance intersectional social justice and equity. Tribute to Outstanding Womxn is presented by our
title sponsor, Mayo Clinic Health System. Tribute to Outstanding Womxn will be on Thursday, November 7th
from 4:45-8:00pm at the La Crosse Center. Tickets are on sale until November 3rd at midnight at

Brittany Lake

Daybreak Anchor

Skip to content