Skip to Content

Viterbo celebrates Martin Luther King Jr. Day with special speaker

LA CROSSE, Wis. (WXOW) --- Viterbo University honored their 2020 Martin Luther King Jr. leadership award recipients with a special speaker on Monday night.

Lynda Blackmon Lowery spoke to a packed audience at Viterbo's Fine Art Center. She addressed the audience in her presentation “History: Past, Present, and Future” at the La Crosse Community Annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration.

Lowery marched in some of the most divisive civil right's battles. She began her activism back in 1960 and was one of the youngest marchers that walked from Selma to Montgomery. Lowery marched in both "Bloody Sunday" and "Turn Around Tuesday." In "Bloody Sunday," she received 35 stitches while walking over the Edmund Pettus Bridge.

Tracy Littlejohn, Jonah Harlan, and Irving Balto received awards.

Littlejohn received the MLK Leadership Award for her work as the homeschool coordinator for the Ho-Chunk National La Crosse Youth and Learning Center. 

Irving Balto received the Martin Luther King Jr. Drum Major Legacy Award/

Onalaska High School junior Jonah Harlan received the Lynda Lowery Student Leadership Award.

This event is organized by the La Crosse Community Annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration Committee.

Mike Beiermeister

WXOW Weekend Anchor and Reporter

Skip to content