Skip to Content

Winona teacher nominated for 2021 Minnesota Teacher of the Year

winona high school

St. Paul, Minn. (WXOW)- Candidates for the 57th Minnesota Teacher of the Year have been announced, among them a Winona Area Public Schools teacher.

The program, which celebrates the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota, has nominated a list of 75 teachers. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade instructors and Early Childhood Family Education and Adult Basic Education teachers from both public and private schools.

To help select Teacher of the Year, a panel of leaders in education, business, government, nonprofit, and philanthropy, are set to read candidates’ portfolios and choose a list of semifinalists. The panel plans to reconvene again in March to narrow down to a group of finalists.

Due to COVID-19, the Minnesota Teacher of the Year banquet, currently scheduled for May 2 at the Saint Paul RiverCentre, may be postponed. Candidates for the 2021 Minnesota Teacher of the Year include:

Katherine Zuehlke, Annandale Public Schools

Paul Heida, Anoka-Hennepin School District

Todd Hunter, Anoka-Hennepin School District

Joleen Lundin, Anoka-Hennepin School District

Jamie Weisz, Anoka-Hennepin School District

Stuart Darnell Keroff, Aspen AcademySavage

Nicholas Hupton, Bloomington Public Schools

Whitney Bennett, Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools

Cassandra Taylor, Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools

Jill Magnuson, Dover-Eyota Public Schools

Tami Rhea, Dover-Eyota Public Schools

Suzette Ehlke Rowen, Dover-Eyota Public Schools

Ashley Kruger, Eagle Ridge Academy, Minnetonka

Courtney Heinz, Eden Prairie Schools

Casey Ostdiek, Eden Prairie Schools

Lauren Scherer, Eden Prairie Schools

Emily Izen–Labes, Fairmont Area Schools

Jacqueline Jarvis, Faribault Public Schools

Emily Holley, Farmington Area Public Schools

Michelle Thompson, Farmington Area Public Schools

Scott Kummrow, Fergus Falls Public Schools

Layne Bell, Hopkins Public Schools

Autumn Schacht, Hopkins Public Schools

Brittany Rogers, Jackson County Central School District

Kristen Frank, Lake Park Audubon School District

Christine Carlson-Kelm, Mahtomedi Public Schools

Brady Krusemark, Mankato Area Public Schools

Eric Meyer, Maple Lake Public Schools

Kim Marty-Goblirsch, Medford Public Schools

Sara Markham, Medford Public Schools

Robert Kohnert, Minneapolis Public Schools

Lauren Wheeler, Minneapolis Public Schools

David Davis, Minnetonka Public Schools

Teresa Ketelsen, Montevideo Public Schools

Jeff Offutt, Moorhead Area Public Schools

James Greenwaldt, Morris Area Schools

Jodi Sandmeyer, Nevis Public School District

Peter Pearson, Osseo Area Schools

Jessica Stewart, Osseo Area Schools

Kristin Holsen, Osseo Area Schools

Jess Wagner, Owatonna Public Schools

Alice Nevins, Pierz Public Schools

Ann Hutchison, Pillager School District

Christie Dunkley, Pine City Public Schools

Renee Pedersen, Proctor Public Schools

Kathryn Kneeland, Robbinsdale Area Schools

Natalia Benjamin, Rochester Public Schools

Kim Czeh, Roseau Community Schools

Lisa Langenhahn-Heil, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan District

Kaela Jo Sacquitne, Roseville Area Schools

Katherine Green, Saint Cloud Area School District

Eugenia Popa, Saint Paul Public Schools

John Horton, Saint Paul Public Schools

Kathy Romero, Saint Paul Public Schools

Louise Ziegler, Sauk Rapids-Rice Public Schools

Michael Sundblad, Shakopee Public Schools

Kathryn Tabke, Shakopee Public Schools

Shawna Wilson, Shakopee Public Schools

Jillian Goods, South Washington County Schools

Kristine Iturrino, South Washington County Schools

Sandra Stephens, South Washington County Schools

Wright Braudt, Southwest Metro Intermediate District 288

Lisa Cartwright, St. Anthony-New Brighton School District

Kristine Friesen, St. James Public Schools

Alicia Farmer, Stillwater Area Public Schools

Robyn Hassani, Stillwater Area Public Schools

Hannah Reyes, Stillwater Area Public Schools

Monica Maloney, Triton Public Schools

France Roberts, Wayzata Public Schools

Calleigh Forcier, Westonka Public Schools

Beth Hausladen, Westonka Public Schools

Aaron Thorpe, Westonka Public Schools

Kristin Wallace, Westonka Public Schools

Jayne Oachs, Wheaton Area Schools

Shannon Helgeson, Winona Area Public Schools

Author Profile Photo

Grace Gilles

Skip to content