Skip to Content

Reynolds wins La Crosse Mayoral election

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00
Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00
mitch reynolds 2
vicki markussen

LA CROSSE, Wis. (WXOW) - With all precincts counted, Mitch Reynolds is elected as the next mayor of La Crosse.

Reynolds narrowly defeated Vicki Markussen 4,655-4,450 in Tuesday's race.

He will replace Tim Kabat who chose not to run for another term.

"I'm most proud of the way that we've been able to build a coalition of so many different and various groups in the City of La Crosse within our communities that have come together with the same concepts and the same ideas and the same desire to really help build our community from people first," Mayor-Elect Reynolds said. "We have made some tremendous arguments about the need to really address the needs of those in our community that are struggling and to really address issues of quality and affordable housing."

Only 205 votes separated Reynolds and Markussen.

"I'm truly proud that my team ran this campaign our way, that this was my message, this was our message and that we did it as a very authentic, local non-partisan race," Markussen said. "It's time to unite and we have to be moving together to move La Crosse forward. That's what's needed right now."

RELATED: Along with new mayor, some new faces on La Crosse's City Council

Election Results

WXOW Politics Page

WXOW Facebook Page

Watch our live news coverage of the elections

Author Profile Photo


Skip to content